Connecting, Collaborating, and Creating!

EC&I 834 extended the knowledge that I gained in EC&I 833 … and it allowed me to, once again, connect, collaborate and create with so many incredible classmates – especially Ashley and Andrew!   Even though many classmates have now completed their Master’s studies, I know that the relationships that have developed – through Twitter, Google+, blogging, etc. will remain intact long into the future. (Go, PLNs!)

The highlight of the course, for me, was building an actual blended course on Digital Citizenship that I will be able to use with the high school students that I teach in the fall.   If you’d like to check it out, here is the log in information:

Username: ashleypmurray+canvas@gmail.com
Password: reviewer123

In this post, will introduce you to this course through the Course Profile.  I’ll then take  you on a journey of it’s creation (through links to my previous blog posts), and I’ll wrap up by sharing a link to a screencast, created with my teammates, Ashley and Andrew.  The screencast addresses some areas that require changes and basically responds to the  feedback that we received from our EC&I classmates.

Course Profile

You can find our Course Profile at this link.

Please note that it is written for the course instructor – not for the students.  A similar document (Syllabus) is included in our course on Canvas … but it is directed at the high school students who would be taking the course.

A Journey through Module Making

Here is a link to a few of my blog posts that discuss my experience in working with Ashley and Andrew to build this course:

Introducing our Prototype

Laying the Groundwork

Interactions in my Sections

Final thoughts on Module Creation

Responding to Feedback / Changes to Implement

My team had a chance to go through all of the feedback that we received; we

Photo Credit: Mufidah Kassalias Flickr via Compfight cc

appreciate the suggestions, the “oops-es” that were detected, and the positive comments!  Rather than each write responses to the feedback, we decided to discuss it and then record a screencast about it, as we walked everyone through specific parts of our course.   I did want to quickly comment on one very valuable piece of feedback that I received from a classmate.   The classmate noted that they didn’t notice any “artifact” that include content instruction in my module.  The Google Forms survey and the EdPuzzle were both intended to teach students about this topic.  The rest of the teaching would happen during our regular synchronous (or face-to-face) sessions.

As I state in the aforementioned screencast, I wanted the ideas about digital etiquette to come from the students.  It is for this reason that I start off having them record a Flipgrid about a time when someone upset or offended them by their use of technology.  The ideas that would be generated there would grow, very organically, as the module progressed.   I didn’t want to simply give students a list of what is considered to be good or bad digital etiquette.  What I would like to change about my module is the way that I used MySimpleShow.   In order to ensure that students understood what I wanted them to understand in the course, I would like to create another artifact:  a second MySimpleShow.  This one would be a sample of the final project (how to teach middle years students about digital etiquette).  Here’s a quick summary of my module… I’ve added a couple of details since receiving the feedback – just to indicate where teacher involvement would exist:

  1. Students will record a Flipgrid video describing a time when someone’s use of technology frustrated or offended them.
  2. Students will watch five classmates’ Flipgrid videos and they will write a blog post in response to a specific prompt about the content of the videos.  Students will be encouraged to read and comment on several classmates’ blog posts.  (The teacher will also read and comment on blog posts.)
  3. The students will anonymously complete a Google Forms survey that asks them about their own digital practices.
  4. The anonymous results of the survey will be shared electronically (or in a face-to-face setting or synchronous session).  The students will individually post their reactions to the survey results in their group’s Canvas discussion board area.  Students will be expected to demonstrate good digital etiquette when they participate in the discussion board.  (The teacher will also add to the discussion board posts, making sure everyone is modeling good etiquette.)
  5. The students will complete an EdPuzzle about digital etiquette.  They will be graded on four tasks that were included in the EdPuzzle.
  6. Students will read an article about digital etiquette.  They will prepare and submit jot notes covering ten key points from the article.
  7. The students will watch a MySimpleShow to learn about the final project that they will complete for the course.  The final project will be submitted electronically.  There will be opportunities to share the final projects with classmates during a face-to-face or synchronous session.  (Note:  I would like to create a second MySimpleShow … one that teaches middle years students about digital etiquette.  It could be another artifact for my project and it would be a great sample to which the senior students could refer.)

Here’s the link to the recording that Ashley, Andrew and I created in response to the valuable feedback that we received:

Final Screencast

To close, I want to comment that my team really enjoyed creating our “short course” on Digital Citizenship – and we learned a great deal in the process.  The fact that Ashley and I will be able to finish developing the course and put it into full use in the fall makes  this whole experience just that much more rewarding for us.  (Thanks, Andrew, for joining us on this journey!)  Congratulations to Ashley, Andrew, and the rest of the classmates who have completed their Master’s!!

Photo Credit: csu.montereybay Flickr via Compfight cc

Leave a Reply

