I emptied the attic … and ran out of steam!

Photo Credit: april-mo Flickr via Compfight cc

So… in case you haven’t guessed…. the first part of this post is my ramblings about what I’ve finished (with Andrew and Ashley’s collaboration!) for the group project.  Anyone who has ever tackled a big project (for example, emptying an attic to sort, declutter, clean) and then got halfway done and ran out of steam might relate to how I’m feeling right now.   I worked SO hard on the project… thinking, planning, talking, thinking, creating, tweaking…  and I came up with, what I believe to be, a great collection of activities/assignments for my module.

And then, I ran out of energy…. or interest… or both.

I emptied the attic…

Photo Credit: april-mo Flickr via Compfight cc

I consider myself ‘very lucky’ to have Ashley and Andrew as my teaching AND learning colleagues!  Talk about the best of both worlds.  Over the last couple of months, we’ve had many opportunities to pop into each others’ classrooms to share an idea for “the modules” or “the project”.   Our initial planning took place using a Google Doc … but our close proximity and affinity for hallway chats seemed to take over where this tech tool left off.

Agreeing on the “course” we wanted to teach was pretty easy …  as Technology 9 / IP 10 teachers, Ashley and I were so grateful that Andrew was willing to lend his genius-ness to planning a Digital Citizenship “short course”.  (Yes – both Ashley and I will be using this course in our teachings next year!)   With Alec and Katia’s “Digital Citizenship Education in Saskatchewan Schools” document as our guide, we had no trouble selecting an area of “DigCit” that was of special interest to each of us.

Deciding on the platform to use (a totally new term for me… although I have been using

Edmodo for years 🙂 … I didn’t even know what it really was!).   We all explored Canvas and agreed that it was very user-friendly and visually appealing for students.  Once the “shell” was established, things started to take shape.  We independently planned the activities and assessment tools that would be used within our own modules.  (There was some conferring on this, as we wanted to make sure that a variety of tools were used and that a variety of assignments were given.)  I had trouble choosing what I wanted my students to do (explore, connect, share, etc.) for my module about digital etiquette.  I felt like a kid in a candy shop as I flipped through my EC&I 833 and 834 notes, finding one great ed tech tool after another.

I settled on bit of a collection…    for my module, the students will do a Flipgrid, blog about classmates’ Flipgrids, answer a survey about their level of digital etiquette, write a discussion forum post about the class’s digital etiquette, respond to other’s forum posts about #digetiquette, complete an EdPuzzle (that I made), read an article about good digital etiquette, and create a MySimpleShow to educate middle years students.  I was excited when I was creating these activities… and I’m even more excited to put them into action!

In addition to choosing our tools, planning our assignments and evaluation methods, as ed tech lovers, we all enjoyed MANY tangents into areas of digital citizenship that were not at all related to our specific modules.  Each of us had, as a result, gathered fantastic resources for teaching many Ribble’s nine elements of digital citizenship.  Filling in bits and pieces of the “extra modules” for our short course was a great way of making use of our excellent findings.

…and, ran out of steam!

Photo Credit: cseeman Flickr via Compfight cc

Just like the kid who chooses to a) watch TV and b) THEN go clean her room (truthfully, I’d be happy if any of my little people got to ‘b’ … regardless of the order of events!) … somehow, for this project, I did all of the fun stuff first – and I left the less thrilling tasks to the end.  Despite the fact that my two much younger, much tekki-er, and much more disciplined colleagues have finished all of their project responsibilities, I have yet to:

  • create any of my assessment rubrics
  • create the syllabus that will accompany our “short course”
  • fill in the extra resources that I found for the other modules
  • add bits and pieces about audience, rationale, objectives, etc.

Photo Credit: Mufidah Kassalias Flickr via Compfight cc

I actually know what I want to do / what I need to write for each of these remaining project elements … it’s just a matter of sitting down and getting it done.  I still have six days, right?  If I tackled one of these bullets each day, I’d still have two days to just sit back and relax, right?  Uhhhhmmmm… I mean…. Tweet, read and post on Google+, finish this blog, read a bunch of blogs and share my thoughts, plan my summary of learning …    … Well, too bad for me.  I can’t leave all of those attic items just lying in the middle of the living room.  I have to get back to work and finish this project!

I hope you are all well on your way to the state of “project completion” !  Happy planning!

Nancy

p.s.  Look at me… I just wrote this entire blog post INSTEAD OF FINISHING MY PROJECT.   How did I distract myself AGAIN?  😉

7 thoughts on “I emptied the attic … and ran out of steam!

  1. But hey – you accomplished a blog post!! That’s attacking some clutter in the closet. Well done, Nancy. Loved reading this with your attic analogy. Your module sounds great and I still have many bits and pieces to do if it makes you feel any better 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Natalie! Thanks for taking the time to read my post. Things sure are getting busy. I’m so glad that the major project is due a couple of weeks before class wraps up. We will appreciate that being done when it’s time to complete the summaries of learning!

      Like

  2. Hey Nancy. Really enjoyed reading your post – it made me smile. Love your honesty and openness – especially where you said “And then, I ran out of energy…. or interest… or both.” It can be difficult to maintain the self discipline required to simply meet the weekly ‘maintenance’ tasks for this class – like the blog, reading blogs, posting to Twitter that you mentioned – never mind the working on the ‘big stuff’! You are doing it – so are we all. Being ‘stretched’ in this way can be a good thing if you look at it in the right light. (at least that’s what I am trying to tell myself) It seems to me that if you and I went for tea – we would find that we had a lot to talk about 🙂 Hang in – almost there !

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing Nancy! It was a great post (as always). I loved you attic analogy. It made me laugh out loud at times and relate to you in many ways. Just as Angela has said, I loved your part about running out of energy… or interest…or both. It’s so true! I think it really is a little of both. We are all nearing the end of a busy semester and everything is adding up. We are almost there. Keep on, keeping on! You got this. Your course prototype sounds amazing and I can’t wait to take a closer look at it!
    ps. Just think, your blog post for this week is done and it’s only Friday! You have lots of time! Cheers for the weekend!

    Like

  4. Pingback: I can see the light… | Mrs. Melinda Pelletier

  5. I love your writing style Nancy; it’s engaging, conversational, and I hear your voice so clearly when I read it! Thank you for the kind words you mentioned about me, and it has been an absolute pleasure to work on this course prototype with you! As busy as your life is, you always manage to juggle everything and do such a good job at it all! Hang in there just a few more weeks!

    Like

  6. Pingback: That’s a W(rap)! – Up and Atom!

Leave a Reply

